Tuesday, 5 March 2013

The Noble Warriors Triology by William Nicholson

Seeker (Book 1)
"When his brother is exiled from the Nomana without any explanation, sixteen-year-old Seeker sets off on a journey to rescue him--and to find out what really happened.Along the way, he meets two other young people who are on quests of their own, and in a shocking turn of events, the three are soon caught up in a harrowing and bloody race to save the Nomana--and themselves--from destruction." (chapters.ca)

Jango (Book 2)
"Seeker, Morning Star, and theWildman return in this gripping sequel to Seeker and discover that the mysterious warrior sect they were so desperate to join is not what it appeared to be. Deeply disillusioned, the three escape and head off on quests they think are separate but soon become intertwined--and desperately life threatening.Fortunately, they have acquired the remarkable physical skills of the Noble Warriors, for they are certainly going to need them. The mighty warlord of the Orlan nation is gathering his forces and has vowed to destroy Anacrea--and everything and everyone thatcrosses his path." (chapters.ca)

Noman (Book 3)
"The safe haven of the Noble Warriors has been demolished and the Nomana have disbanded. When a young boy preaching peace and joy mesmerizes all who come in contact with him, a large following grows quickly--one that soon includes Morning Star and the Wildman. Yet Seeker, who is obsessed with his increasingly perilous journey to kill the last savanter, finds his mission placing him at odds with this new leader. As loyalties and friendships and faith are tested, all three heroes must question: Who can be trusted? And what can be believed? Part adventure-fantasy, part love story, and part reflection on the themes of power and faith, Noman is a thrilling and thought-provoking novel--a beautiful wrap-up to a critically acclaimed series." (chapters.ca)

 I absolutely LOVE William Nicholson and I think it is a shame that more people are not familiar with his work. This trilogy did not fail. Although it is considered a kids series, I would say there is most certainly a depth to this trilogy (and both kids trilogies Nicholson has written) that would not be understood by children (but is great for adults!) Nicholson has a way of making you think about the characters and the paths they are taking. Are they making the right move? Taking the right path? What are they missing that you, the reader, can see? I think the characters are easy to relate to in that we all have many struggles and obstacles to overcome in life. Whether they are external or internal, we all have them. This trilogy is filled with adventure, uncertainty, and a great quest that our main character has to figure out and decipher.
I absolutely recommend this trilogy to any and all readers. I also recommend you try his other trilogy, 
The Wind on Fire. It is a post-apocalyptic trilogy, unlike any we have seen in recent years. Give both of these trilogies a try! You will not regret it! I give this trilogy a 5/5. Fantastic!

Happy Reading!

Next Review: The Circle of Magic Quartet by Tamora Pierce

No comments:

Post a Comment